Three Men Will Win Their Second Grey Cup This Weekend

Ticat LB Brandon Isaac.

Ticat LB Brandon Isaac.

BY: Jeff Schneberk @Game7overtime

 

Hamilton: Orlondo Steinauer, Brandon Isaac, Evan McCollough

Riders: Ricky Foley, Tristan Black, Ejiro Kuale

There are both players and coaches in Sunday’s Grey Cup game that will be back-to-back Cup champs come Sunday night

Ticat D-back Evan McCullough.

Ticat D-back Evan McCullough.

There are three members of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats who will be gunning for their second straight title, and there are also three on the Saskatchewan Roughriders that are also looking for their second championship in two years.

For one of those two groups, it will be a dream accomplished– back to back championships.

Ticat D-coordinator Orlondo Steinauer.

Ticat D-coordinator Orlondo Steinauer.

For linebacker Isaac and Steinauer, who is the defensive co-ordinator who helped to shut down the powerhouse Toronto Argonaut defence in the second half of the East final, they are looking to do what they did last year to the Calgary Stampeders, this weekend to the Roughriders.

For Isaac, it’s a particularly sweet opportunity. Isaac was released by the Argos early in the season and quickly signed in Hamilton.

Isaac also relishes the opportunity to go back to back, and had a great experience at this week’s East Breakfast when he got to revisit an old friend.

“I went and looked at the Grey Cup and saw my name on it,” said the linebacker. “I told the guys they have the opportunity to put their names on it as well.”

It would be an incredible way to end a season that started out with his stunning release.

“Coming into the season, I prepared myself,” said the South Carolina product. “I was named captain, took that to heart, thought it was a big step in my life. It was taken away from me. I was down, frustrated, shocked, upset at myself and upset with others.”

“Then I got an opportunity to come over here,” Isaac continued. “I kept on battling and battling and now I’m here at the Grey Cup with the team that gave me the opportunity to play football.”

Evan McCullough brought versatility to the Ticats when he arrived from the Double Blue, but he didn’t bring his Grey Cup ring to Regina. That’s safely tucked away back at his home in the United States.

The starting defensive halfback told TSN.ca that he hasn’t thought about the rare opportunity to win consecutive championships.

“I haven’t because it really hasn’t hit me yet,” said McCullough “To be a part of the 100th Grey Cup champions and then get a chance to go back for the 101st is awesome, it’s amazing. A lot of people don’t get to experience that, and I get a chance to do that at a young time in my career.”

logo-90-leaping-tiger

@Game7overtime

Leave a Reply

